Complete nub

Hey guys, I’m a complete nub to the whole fighter genre and before I jump in, I want to ask a couple questions. Sorry if there have been answered already, if so, please point me in the right direction thanks.

Anyway, as I said, I’m a complete noob to the series, but I’m an experienced gamer. I’m mainly an FPS player but I think I want to try something more strategic, like Street Fighter, Tekken, and other games of the series. When I would play against friends on games like this, we would just mash random stuff and hope to win but now I want to try playing less like an epileptic watching a strobe light and more like someone with skill and able to have fun. I want to ask, is coming from an FPS background going to decrease the learning curve, steepen it, or just not really do anything at all? Also, going into these games (Street Fighter specifically), should I expect to pick a favorite character or will there be different characters for different occasions? From footage of rounds that I’ve seen, it seems to be a combination of the two. Finally, before I end this wall of text, could someone give me the gist of the difference of SF4 and SSF4? I think I’ll pick SSF4 up because it’s used in more tournaments meaning it’s more popular, but are there any real major differences?

If you’re still reading this, thanks for taking the time to at least read through this.

The controls will be difficult at first if you’ve never played older street fighter games and still difficult depending on just how long it’s been for you. It’s not really intuitive like “point and shoot” as in an FPS; there is a lot more emphasis on absolute precision and timing. They aren’t impossible to learn you’ll probably just lose quite a bit at first because a lot of the players have been building their game knowledge and execution for years.