Connection Between Frames and Links

Been playing fighters for half a year or so and only recently started looking (seriously) into frame data.

When first learning about links in Super, it was my understanding that a link was “inputting the next move as soon as the first finishes”. Now I’m curious as to how this works as pertaining to frames. Does the first move have to have an advantage on block/hit more than or equal to the second move’s startup frames?

I would think the advantage would have to be more, giving the character at least 1 frame to actually link, but when looking at SRK’s Ryu frame data, his c.MP is +5 on hit and his c.MK has a 5 frame startup. Why do these link?

Sorry for the long-winded, n00b question m(._.)m

I’m a noob, so I’m probably using the wrong terminology, but…

They link because the opponent literally has no frames where he can do something, because the active frames on your move start right as the hitstun on your move ends.

Do I not need space between the last move ending and the new move beginning to actually input the command?

5 frame startup means the attack hits on the 5th frame, and only has 4 frames of non-hitting frames beforehand. Besides that, you have the right idea. For a grounded link, the normal or special in question needs to leave you at plus frames equal to or greater than the startup of the move you’re trying to link.

Ah, so the last start up frame and the first active frames are the same.

Thank you much.

Frames is just a word people like using.

When your talking about linking combos that’s basically multiple pokes. The term your looking for is hit stun. Each poke has a different stun rate and in the combo trail shows you which pokes could follow up one after another.

I wrote a frame data guide once over here: