Custom arcade stick research

Hello all, I’ve been lurking for awhile and decided to register. I decided to make my own arcade stick and been looking at some production ones, but none of the (aesthetic) styles really suit me. I have an industrial design degree (product design) so I figured, why not design my own? For now it is a personal one-off project.

Any ways, I’m treating this personal project as a potential limited production run (hand built). I know what I want, but it’s important what others want as well. I guess that’s why I started this thread.

The 1st question is: How important is it to customize the faceplate (artwork). If the overall product is nicely designed, will you still want to put a custom artwork over top of it?

I have some renderings I can show in a bit. Thanks! ~Nick

customizable faceplate should always be an option, just look at every stick out there. People want it or will find a way to do it.

Secondly hows that degree working out for you? You working on any career projects or hired at an ID firm? I’m trying to pursue the same degree.

It should be obvious from the number of customized sticks out that that changeable top panel art is a must.

Custom art, choice of layout, make sure it’s sturdy and comfortable to play on.

Most importantly you must observe the 6 month 50 post rule before trying to sell anything on this website, or risk being suspended. Just letting you know.