"Custom" Happ/iL stick project. Also questions about modding in general

Well, as you guys could probably tell, I’m new and a noob. If not, you shall soon see so.

I finally got myself a SE stick and I don’t like the feeling of Japanese buttons/stick too much (even if they are a knock-off). I even tried a TE to see what all the fuss was about, but I honestly couldn’t tell a difference. (Again, I’m new to all this) I guess it’s my fault for growing up on MvC, Street Fighter, and Tekken all in America.

After a bit of research about Happ parts and modding in general, I got to thinking. Since there’s not enough space in a SE stick box for Happ parts, could I take out all the innards (pcb and everything) and stick it into a case (http://www.qcfgaming.com/Happ_DIY_New.html) along with some Happ parts, would I have a viable option (obviously not the cheapest/smartest option) for an American stick?

(On another note I want to have an American stick with a balltop, but I’m not quite sure how to go about this.)

I also want to make this stick work for the PS3 (my friends own PS3’s) and Wii (for Tatsukuno vs Capcom). I read something about doing this with this guide (http://forums.shoryuken.com/showthread.php?t=184787), but I still do not quite get the concept, or more just what the hell I’m doing. I feel like it might be easier for me to get more sticks (but I also feel like that’s a waste of money)

I guess the only questions I have are:
Is this worth it? (Monetary-wise)
Am I better off sticking with Japanese parts?
And is it possible to get an American stick with a ball top? (Search didn’t really help me)
What do I do with the Cthulhu to get this working on a PS3 and Wii?

Essentially, I don’t want to start this and find out I broke my stick while having no idea what I’m doing/what to do.