Custom or brand name

I have been on the wire about this. My first fight stick. I want a custom one where I can put anything I want including art, but Im wondering if it is a smart choice. I was thinking of ordering that prewired pcb off of modchipman. Is their any other thing i would need to get the wires to connect to the stick and buttons?

Also Im no artist so if I were to paint a custom stick (the 4 button with plexi glass on "QCF"
What type of paint would i need.
What painting tutorials do u recommend.
and how do people get a wood stick to not look like wood.

Now on the flip side We have he brandname shoulder.

Its Pre made (I perfer to have my own original stick)
Some are easily moddible
The Te is highly customizable along with the se and I think the hrap3
is

The thing that is stopping me from buying name brand sticks are the fact that its all the same. I would be scared to open it because i dont want to break the stick or connectors, but with my custom stick i know how i put it together so ill feel more safe in modding my own stick.

Please tell me What you think I should do.

_Atrain

i think you should read the stickes and slagcoin.com

Thanks i skimmed it over a bit. imma read it in detail when i get back home

yea custom all day man you will feel so much more fulfilled and happy with yourself

I debated for months and decided to take the custom plunge. Just ordered the box and doner PS3 pad, trying to decide on art and buttons now. Being able to make a wireless stick for less than a brand new one (hopefully!) outweighs having a plug and play stick for me.

All wiring, button, box type, stick, and art choices can be really anything you desire with a custom. Any stick you receive from a big manufacturer is going to have limitations(perhaps excluding the TE) but any controller or equipment fault is strictly your own when it comes to building customs. Any fault of a brand name usually seems to happen after warranty has ended, Murphy’s law.