Cutting out the unwanted parts of videos/making clips

It’s not that I’m running out of space, but I don’t like knowing that I have big files even though I only care about a small clip from each video. I have no experience messing around with videos so I’m new at this. What’s a good beginner program to use to handle this task? Any other information I should know before tampering with videos?

Thanks.

windows movie maker is a pretty good, free beginner video editor i suppose

Thanks. I gave it a try but it didn’t turn out exactly as I hoped. I used a 3S match vid as a test video, and it automatically divided it into 10 second clips; for a longer video there would be so many. It did give me the option to combine clips so I get all the parts I want, but I would prefer to just pick the beginning and ending time of each clip myself. When saving it, I couldn’t figure out how to keep it at the original bitrate and resolution (when I played it back it was different).

If anyone knows how to solve the above problems with WMM, please explain. Wouldn’t mind knowing another program either, preferably one that won’t give the issues I mentioned.

Try virtualdub…it’s capable of handling most video formats, and you can specify which frame you want to start/stop editing. Usually, after you edit it, you can just do a save as and it’ll keep the original size and bitrate.

It’s used quite a bit for re-encoding videos so I don’t consider it a beginner’s program, but since this is pretty basic it shouldn’t take too long to figure out.

Damn. The help files for the program describe what I want to do, but it can’t open the files I’ve tried, which are .avi, even though various menus mention that file type. It gives the following error message:

*"Couldn’t locate decompressor for format ‘XVID’ (unknown)

VirtualDub requires a Video for Windows (VFW) compatible codec to decompress video. DirectShow codecs, such as those used by Windows Media Player, are not suitable."*