Cutting your own hair?

How many people on SRK cut their own hair? Did you have to wear a hat for the first few times you cut your own hair? Any tips for someone who wants to start doing it on their own?

I plan on leaving the states soon and I don’t think there will be any barber shops where I plan on going, and I dont want to look homeless so I’ve decided to start cutting my own hair now to save myself the embarrassment when the time comes. I’m not looking on doing any fancy shit either. Just looking to keep it low and neat.

I’ve been overseas for awhile, and away from a good barber shop, so I’ve been cutting my own hair… and for the past 4 years I’ve actually been doing a good job (no really, I get compliments regularly). I actually found an okay barber shop near me, but I just do it myself and pocket my money.

I had to get good equipment first (Andis clippers), and learned how to keep them in top condition (just make sure everything is free of hair and well-oiled before/after use). Maintenance is priority #1. Then I looked on Youtube for hair-cutting tips. Lining up didn’t take long to learn, getting even hair length was easy. The tricky part is fading. There really isn’t a standard technique to getting a good fade. It’s all learning curve, understanding how your hair grows, and trial and error. Thismight help make a cleaner blend.

I’m black though, so I dunno how straight-haired guys get by. Being overseas, I’ve seen a lot of white dudes with some jacked haircuts that were clearly a DIY job.

I cut my own hair using clippers. Start at the back moving to the front, then once you’ve done the whole scalp go from the front to back. This makes sure it’s all even.

PS I have afro hair.