CvS: Cheese/Cheap Tactics

CvS: Cheese/Cheap Tactics how to avoid them

Hi guys, I’m new here, but I’ve been playing fighting games for a while so I’m no newbie to them. I just have this one problem with freakin’ CvS 1. At the arcade in my school, that’s all we have and this guy consistenly plays Ryu/Ken. All he does is that damn annoying hadouken/shoryuken trap and i find this to be super-cheap. I can win sometimes, but me and my friends are consistenly beaten more often that we can beat him. I have so much difficulty with this tactic and I’ve tried playing against it with like, everyone possible. The most luck I have is with Geese cuz I can outrange his sweeps and the shippukens are good too. Also I can always get the Deadly Rave thru his fireballs, but it’s still hard. It just seems to me that Ryu/Ken have very little weaknessess in this game.

I find that the hadouken has such little delay, that rolling is almost all of the time met with short kicks, and if u try to jump he can get out that jab shoryuken before u can get in there. Do you guys know any surefire tactics against this sort of thing?

I know this probably sounds newb, but I’ve been playing fighters for a long time and this guys timing is just so great, and he almost NEVER messed up dragon punches or hadoukens. I just find this to be super cheap, since it’s so hard to counter.

Also, post other cheese/cheap tactics here, and how you’ve gotten around them.

CvS: Cheese/Cheap Tactics how to avoid them

Well, you could play someone like Yamazaki, and just toss his fireballs back every time. And/or Vice, so you can Super right over a fireball.

Otherwise, I’d say you really just have to read him better. If you KNOW full well a fireball is coming, you should have time to jump over it. Bait an uppercut and pop him a heavy damage combo. It shouldn’t take more than once to stifle his “1337 oldskool fireball trap”.

N