Design of 2D Fighting Game Engines

Hello everyone, I’m new to SRK and I just wanted to greet everyone and ask a small question…

I’m curious to know generally how most 2D games are designed in terms of management and methods of accomplishing common problems. For instance, how are all moves handled by a 2D fighter? Are the moves scripted for maximum flexibility? For something like MvC2 I would think it would have to be, because while a lot of moves have very similar cause and effects, others are completely unique. Having uniqueness means pretty much that having a generic structure of “moves” so to speak is near impossible (example like the green bubble trapping you from the last boss).

So essentially I’m wondering if most of the games all have complete seperate code done for every move, down to even moving the opponent away. Say Ryo when he does his level 3 super in CvS2, it hits him and the person flies across the screen and gets dizzy, the “flying” isn’t something that most moves do, so I would think that it would have to be customly scripted to get the right effect.

I’m asking because I’ve been a game developer for quite some time, and I’ve also been a really avid fan of 2D fighters for a long time; and I wanted my next project to be a 2D Fighter.

So what does everyone think? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated, thank you!

• Consty :tup:

Since you’re new, I’ll let you know that this probably belongs in Fighting Game Discussion.

Consty, I think the majority is done in C or C++, but that is an assumption. I’m interested in doing the same, I’ll send you a PM.

(wanders in like a shameful puppy with its tail between its legs)

Hi!

I think what you’re trying to ask is whether or not you can derive moves from others. In C++ terms, the question would be, “are there parent classes and child classes of moves?” or “do move-classes use inheritence?”