Dimensions

I’m in the process of drawing up plans for the layout of my stick, and I was debating on how large I should make it.

This is my first project, so I’m relying on examples and proper planning to ensure I don’t fuck it up.

As of right now I have it drawn up as 12 by 9 inches. Is this too small?

Opinions? Recommendations for better dimensions?

http://img23.imageshack.us/img23/2134/sticklayout.jpg

I’m making a stick soon and after my plans I decided on 2.5" x 13 “x 9” so I’m pretty much in the same boat as you.

This depends on a few things, which in turn depend on other things. You may be able to answer some of these questions immediately, you may want to think about some of these first. You don’t need to answer me haha, just food for thought. But feel free to ask questions about any of it!

• IMPORTANT: How hard are you going to be jamming around the joystick? You do not want it to end up tipsy. (This depends a lot on just how you like to play, but there are also some real factors that contribute to this that are detailed in the next few points.)
  • How tall are you planning to make the case? This affects its stability because it adds to the leverage your stick-wigglin’ will put on the box.
  • In terms of control panel layout, how close or far is the joystick from any of the sides/edges? Again, stability.
  • What kind of parts are you putting into it? This affects both how short the box can be, and how hard you will have to push on that joystick to see results.
  • Do you like to have the stick on your lap? On the floor? On a table?
  • How portable do you want it to be? How big or small, how light or heavy? (Remember that you can put extra weight in a stick if you want.)
  • What are you putting on the bottom? Rubber grippy feet? Velcro? Are you going to bolt it down?

There’s no perfect answer, it’s mostly about finding what’s right for you. Hope this helps you starting to think about it a little! :smile: