Does the arcade stick make a significant difference?

I just started playing BlazBlue: Continuum Shift (my first fighter in a while) and I’m really enjoying it so far. I’m hoping to be able to engage in some fun and at least competent competition online and I’d been wondering for a while about the potential benefits of arcade sticks. I’ve heard some say those who take advantage of them and gain an advantage over those using controllers and it also seems those I know are hardcore fighting gamers tend to use them.

For those that do, what are you guys’ reason for using arcade sticks? Do they offer nontrivial benefits over controllers? And if they are really worth it, could you recommend any to me for this game within a reasonable price tag? I don’t think I could stomach $200 for the tournament stick for this game, but I would be willing to spend upwards of ~$50-$80 if its truly worth it for competition.

I think for 4 button games it matters a lot less, but for 6 button games like SSF4 I think it’s much simpler and better for me to use a stick.

Do you find directional+button input combinations (thus combos) to be any easier with it?

Well due to this year’s EVO, the “significant difference” line is just about blurry.

To be honest, I think learning both is good. I play Tekken and I’m mainly a pad player, but I also play on stick as well.
Double button presses are MUCH easier on stick, but movement is about the same (except my 1P backdash is faster on stick). And back when I played Calamity Trigger, I was doing my BnB’s and 6C grab cancel combos for Noel without much trouble on Pad. So really, it comes down to preference, but knowing both is always good… espspecially if you play on Xbox 360…
(in which … Stick >>>>> Pad). lol.

I learned my lesson about the 360 pad for fighters with Virtua Fighter 5 Online. It was an easy decision to get Continuum Shift for PS3.