Enjoying tournaments as a newbie

Here’s a bit of a weird question, possibly even more subjective than even the stuff we get around here.

I’m brand new to the fighting game community, and thus far Marvel is the only game I play. I’m totally free right now (but getting better!), I’ve never been to a tournament, and I’m probably never going to have the time to become a SERIOUS, top-level-minded player. But I do love the game and I really want to participate in tournaments, even though I’m prepared to lose most if not all of the time.

So my question, I suppose, is: Can I still enjoy tournaments, soak up the atmosphere, improve my game, and be respected even without the intent of becoming Chris G? Or is this community basically a big torture chamber for all but the unemployed?

As long as you love the game, willing to get to know the fellow members of your community, and want to work hard to get better (at any level that you’re comfortable with), you’ll be accepted as part of the community, and I highly encourage you to make it out to your first tournament asap.

Ideally you shouldn’t just show up a minute before the tourney starts, talk to nobody, play your matches until you lose, and go home. Really you should take this time to play casuals or warmups against other people, be willing to talk to other people, and just generally be involved and part of the community.

So yes, you can still enjoy the tournament scene, hopefully be motivated to improve, find new ways to improve your skill set, and be respected without having to have the skills of a top-player. Think about it. The VAST majority of people in the scene, 80% of them are just regular gamers looking to play their favorite games with people that share their hobby.

Also, be sure to shower and wear deodorant, and that’ll go a long way towards helping you enjoy your first tournament.

Almost everyone in the FGC has real jobs. Daigo is (was?) a nurse.