EVO attendees/participants needed for interviews

Hey there, participants and attendees of the 2009 EVO Tournament!

My name is Todd Harper, and I’m a doctoral student at Ohio University’s school of Media Arts and Studies. As part of my dissertation, I’m doing some research on fighting gamers, especially tournament players. You may have seen me taking notes around EVO, perhaps!

In any event, the study is looking at how gamers think about the rules of games and how they express themselves as fighting gamers, particularly through big social events and tourneys like EVO. The goal is to better understand how gaming fits into fans’ lives and how different gamer identities get managed.

I’m interested in interviewing people who attended EVO this year, either just to watch or as a tournament player. If you’re interested and willing to help, I’d love to interview you; it would take about an hour of your time. The interviews would preferrably be done over VoIP like Skype or Ventrilo, but I can also do normal phone calls too (I’ll call you, no worries on paying for the call). Your feedback and name will be confidential.

If you’d like to be interviewed, please email me at th298206@ohio.edu to let me know. You can also email if you have any questions about the project or about the interviews, to ask about the sorts of questions I’d be asking, or anything else. Thank you very much!

This research project has been approved by Ohio University’s Institutional Review Board.

yeah man i saw you there. you were sittin down next to me at one point. I had to walk past you when HD remis was goin on cuz i couldnt find a chair. just PM me and ill be glad to help you out.

I think I chatted with you a bit, I was running 3s Pool A. Good luck with your project, I’m interested to see the results.

I can’t send you a PM quite yet, Neko, since I don’t have 5 posts (I’m new here!), but I’ll try to get ahold of you at some point.