EX2 Gate Question

I’m wanting to change the gate on my EX2 from the stock square gate to an octagon gate. Since I’m new to modding, I’m not sure if there is a specific model I should be looking into? I’d prefer to keep the amount of modification work to the gate as minimal as possible. I’m still pretty skiddish about opening up my stick since it is my first one and I don’t want to trash it quite yet.

I just really need the octagon gate, because the square just isn’t doing it for me.

Also I apologize if this has been answered elsewhere. I did do some searching, and I couldn’t find the kind of answers I was looking for.

Advice, dont do it, i made the same mistake long time ago, and now i regret it, try to get used to the square gate, you will find that its actually easy to play with a square gate once you get used to it.

but if you really want to change it to a oct gate, is very easy to do it, you can get the octagonal gate here: lizardlick.com, and its called Sanwa GT-Y Octagonal Restrictor Plate, here is a link and a pic: http://www.lizardlickamusements.com/images/for_sale/joysticks/sanwa_gty.jpg

Im not sure if there is any tutorial in shoryuken, so here is a tutorial how to do it:

http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showthread.php?t=149488&referrerid=13029

Hope it helps you.

Firstly, thanks a bunch, this is exactly what I was looking for.

Second, why exactly did you regret swapping to an octagon gate? The reason I was interested in it was because by my reasoning, the angles are less extreme, so transitioning from down to forward would be a smoother motion and less likely to overshoot the quarter circle motions with the added corners.