Fight stick problem

Hello,

I'm not new to fighting games but new here. I watched EVO this year. It was awesome. I realized no one played with a game pad. Everyone had a fight stick. So I bought the Tekken 6 Hori fight stick off of Amazon. I started playing and I can't do a basic fire ball move that I could do on a game bad. I tried MC3, don't have Umc3 yet, and SSIV and it is all the same. I thought going on line would get me back in shape and all i've done is give people free points. What should I do to actually to be able to compete.

Thanks,
Darklogos

Practice, practice, practice, practice, practice. Then, when you’re done with that, you practice some more. It’s going to take time to get used to executing your inputs on an arcade stick, especially if you have absolutely no experience at an arcade or using someone else’s arcade stick. Just to get to the point of feeling comfortable using your Tekken 6 Hori, it might take anywhere from a few weeks to a few months, depending on how often you practice, along with how quickly you’re able to adapt.

http://www.eventhubs.com/guides/2009/jul/08/tips-switching-pad-joystick/

That article has some useful tips as well. Realize that just having an arcade stick won’t make you any better than you are now, but it will help with certain combinations of right-hand inputs.

It takes practice. It is something brand new to you unlike a pad or controller that you have been using for years. Go into training mode and turn on inputs and just practice doing fireball motions. It will come with time just keep practicing and be patient.

Here are a few good videos to check out

[media=youtube]wX9Ke34vcO0[/media]

[media=youtube]kcVFB8GGf_8[/media]

My biggest problem is that I can’t consistantly roll or tap fast enough. In mvc3 i was able to air juggle with 3 characters now I can’t do 1. I’m practicing now. I’m just frustrated that I’m losing on easy. This is the first time I feel like a button masher.