Fight Sticks "forward compatible"?

Hi friends,
I’m pretty new to fighting games but I really enjoy the genre and want to get more involved and improve my skills. I am interested in buying a Fight Stick for my PS3, but with the PS4 only months away, I’m not sure if anything I buy now would still be usable on the PS4 when it comes out. I suspect they WOULD be usable on PS4 but I don’t know for sure. Does anyone know the answer to this question? Thanks!

Right now there are no sticks which are compatible with both PS3 and PS4. Please do read the rules of each subforum as you are breaking some right now.

Welcome to SRK!

We don’t know the specifics of PS4 controllers yet.

If you want to practice already, I’d recommend finding a cheap fightstick under $100 to see how you like it. It is a very good investment tho to get a tournament edition fight stick but if you can to save an extra before PS4, get a cheaper fightstick. Look on this forum or craigslist for local and try to make a deal with them. If buying a fightstick hurts your savings for PS4, you will have a few month of lost time off practicing on fighting game basics and fight stick experience. And as of right now, I don’t think theres any PS4 fighting games in the midst as of right now except Killer Instinct on the Xbone for next gen fighters. Hope this help you decide.

IMO, I would just get a fightstick now and save extra for the cost of a fightstick bought before PS4. Also, fighting games require a lot of dedicated and time to improve. But just continue to follow the forums and level up your game and you won’t doubt buying a fightstick as of now. Also, fightstick arent for everyone.

No PS3 sticks currently on the market will work on the PS4 since the PS4 has a lockout chip similar to the 360.

Any reports of PS3 sticks working on the system are limited to dev kits which apparently aren’t limited to controllers with the lockout chip. From what I’ve been told, this is not the case with the production consoles.