Fighting game fundamentals?

akuma

Hello, I’m completely new to fighting games.

I’ve been told that it’s best to pick up Ryu to learn the fighting game fundamentals before moving to another character, but I was wondering if there were enough differences between Ryu and Akuma make Ryu a better “starter” character. I’d sorta rather play Akuma because I like him a little more, but I’d be completely fine and content using Ryu if it will benefit me in the long run.

In my opinion you should try out characters that speak to your liking. Model as well as playstyle.
I started out with akuma 2.5 years ago and I still play him to this day.
I had a rough patch but still I learned the game through him.

Best things to start out on is listening to juicy bits and read majs footsiehandbook.

sorry to sound like a noob, but what is juicy bits? i found maj’s footsie thread a while back, but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. i’ll read it once i get my hands on the game and a stick.

“Juicy bits” isn’t any specific thing. It’s more about reading through the character specific threads and picking up specific tips like “Use X Normal against Y character’s jump ins for a clean anti-air”, that sort of thing.

Juicy Bits is Juicebox’s podcast, he’s a really decent high level Abel/Juri with some good insightful knowledge. Link: http://blgaming.com/files/category/3-juicy-bits/ (you may need to create an account at BLG to view them downloads)
And just because people say Ryu is the easiest to use doesn’t mean you should pick him. If anything, unless you TRULY want to learn Ryu there is no reason to play him. If you spend a few months learning Ryu to understand the game and then go to the character of your choosing, you could have just spent those few months on the character you wanted to play and you’d be that much better with that character.