Fighting Game Tutorials: To Be Or Not To Be?

I opened this thread basically to get everyone’s opinions on fighting game tutorials and strategy guides (Hope I don’t get banned for this:confused:).

Nowadays, you can see vids of various fighting game tutorials on the youtube and any other site with vids. I notice folks put them up to show other folks who want to get into a particular game the basics, depending on which character you want to learn how to play as, movements, when and where to use specials/supers, etc. I’ve been playing fighting games on and off for about 12 years and still love them to this day, but these tutorials got me thinking; is there really one way to play a character? Do you have to learn specific combos in order to have a fighting chance?

Since I’ve been playing fighters, I’ve always found that just going into the practice mode of whichever fighter you play and play around with the character; learn his/her movements, range of attack, specials/supers, and most importantly, playing with your favorite character the way you want to play with him/her. I don’t think (imo) that there’s a “certain” way a character should be played; if you want to play your certain way with a character and thats how you practiced it, go for it; but thats just what I think. Don’t know if this is a good example but here it goes: King on Tekken is a very versatile fighter in my book, so whether you want to play with him as a bare-bones fighter or wrestler is your choice. But its folks out there that say “oh this is how you suppose to play with him” and whatnot; now why would I want to play just like the next person? Wouldn’t it be wise to do your own thing? Of course use elements that you think will make your fighter better, but to me, I would like to have my own basis of the character I’m playing as. Since I’ve been watching these vids on youtube, it just makes me wonder…