Fighting Seth in SFIV

I’m pretty new to SF and and still reading up on how to tackle situations and still trying to get combos down more than 50% of the time. I’ve worked my way up to Medium difficulty, but I can’t make any headway on Seth. I’m currently focusing on Ken, and am making no headway. What are some strategies to avoid getting practically perfected by this monster?

For an AI Seth, try with all of your might to refrain from jumping at him. This is true for real matches too, but the reaction speeds of the CPU is just stupidly quick, and he’ll shoryuken any jumpin efforts you try.

He uses teleport when you’re knocked down so that you miss any attempt at a reversal shoryukens when you’re getting up. So just try to use a technical stand (easily done by just mashing directions and a few buttons for half a sec) and he should only have time to teleport once, instead of 3 times, after which, he’ll still be full screen, instead of in your face ready to grab you.

The CPU usually throws sonic booms for a while, and then uses a wall jump from full screen to get in on you. This usually is just an ariel attack followed by either a spinning piledriver, or that annoying kick string where you spaz out during its animation. So just be ready for the jump, block whilst standing because arial attacks can’t be blocked whilst crouching in the majority of cases, and if you block it, be ready to throw out a move of your own, to counter his command throw piledriver, and whatever normal move he cancels into his annoying machine gun kick thing with. The Shoryuken’s invincibility frames will make this a lot easier.

If that doesn’t work, seeing as it’s only medium difficulty you could try this:

Start! - Fwd jump + Heavy Kick > Crouching + Heavy Kick - Level 3 Focus Attack - Level 3 Focus Attack - Level 3 Focus Attack… I take it you get the picture! Retarded, but effective (not on any human opponent). This works up to about the Hard difficulty.