Fighting Yun

akuma

I’m having a tough time playing Yun. I try and parry his divekick, or i just block it when he crosses over, but his combo is so quick and by the time i get up from a knock down he hits me with w geneijin :sad:
any advice?:confused:

Me too, sometime I do my best to keep him away from me cause Yun player will come at you. Stay on the ground most of the time and confuse them with air fireballs for distance. It’s tricky but possible:wonder:

Very very hard matchup for Akuma. Harder than Ken. I’ll prepare a little anti-Yun post, but it wont be anywhere near as big as the anti-Ken one since

1. I hardly get to play against good Yun’s offline unfortunately.
  2. Dealing with dive kicks really ends up depending on your reaction skills - no amount of posting and tips can help.

At work FYI, but I’ll see what I can put here before I go to Troc tonight for some offline action :arazz:

This will seriously be work in progress because I’m still learning about this matchup. Even players with average skills who use Yun as a mess around character can sometimes get wins on me :sad:

Basically, when playing Yun, remember the following:

Genei Jin kills Akuma
Good GJ user kills a blocking Akuma
THEREFORE -
target combo kills Akuma…
Only way to get the upper hand in this match is to find ways out of GJ, given that you’re blocking. This will mean using red parries, teleports, demons and (risky) SA1 or dragon.
MUST LEARN, GO INTO TRAINING MODE AND LEARN IT - I’M STILL TRYING TO GET THE TIMING DOWN 100% - red parry the final mp of Yun’s target combo. You may want to try red parrying the second hit of his mp,hp,b+hp combo, NOT the third hit as thats easy to parry, but also easy to change the timings on it… But anyways, try your best to red parry the third hit of his BnB target combo.