Focus Attack issues

sakura

Im a relatively noob sakura player, and as such my game so far hasnt got a lot further than mashing out ex-tatsus with an air reset or two, and lately my main opponent has been getting better with Abel. We have a good laugh beating each other up, and ive got the upper hand atm, and naturally i’d like it to stay that way.
Inevitably as the round progresses, i get knocked down. I am usually leading on health by this point, but it means Abels ultra is up, the (now irritatingly well timed) focus move hits me the second i stand and i then get ultrad for a million billion damage :bluu:
Ordinarily i’d light shouken, but that doesnt cut it. Were I Ryu or Ken or some such, i’d just shoryuken it and get on with things, but my efforts so far with sakura have got me nowhere.
EX shouken seems to have decent invul frames, but the delay from starting it to actually hitting someone causes problems of its own. Naturally my friend never does this if i have ultra bar, as that counters nicely enough, but when im winning its rather frustrating to see 2/3rds of my current bar go byebye thanks to a kidney punch :frowning:
Any advice that isnt ‘stop failing’ would be appreciated :razz:

wake up back dash = no FA crumple = no ultra.

yep or ex shou if hes always going through with it

I would stress that his timing is damn near perfect on the wakeup. Will the backdash still save me? Again, maybe i am failing at executing the ex shouken, but it doesnt seem to interrupt in time for me to not get ultrad and pwned. Thanks for the suggestions, ill give them a go.

ex shou, has to much recovery i think, he would still get u while u escape.

Backdash is invicible in the first 8 frames , so if he attacks meaty, ur safe.