Footsies, Poking, Kara Canceling, and Sagat

Hey all, I’m new to the SRK forums, and just had a couple of questions I was hoping I could get some help with. I used to main Ryu, took him to like 2000 BP before I ended up getting a TE arcade stick. Now, like most people, I feel like I’m starting over so instead of picking a character I don’t particularly like (Ryu) I switched to Sagat. I started fighting games with SF4, and even though I do all right online, I still consider myself a noob. I watched all of TBirdSF4’s videos and feel like I picked up some stuff I didn’t know before, which was a great help, but after reading a bunch of posts on these forums trying to improve my game, I came across terms that I’m not too familiar with. I read the sticky for the definitions of Footsies/poking/kara canceling (which I know is important for Sagat, but not sure what it means or how to perform it), but I was hoping I could get some simpler, or even more advanced explanations about what some of these terms mean.

Thanks…

I’ll try my best:

Footsies: Its basically using crouching attacks such as “cr. mk” to control space. A good example is how Ryu uses this move to setup his Hadouken, and to force opponents to jump so that he can SRK them (anti-air). Pretty much the point of footsies is to get your enemy to jump or move back into a corner.

Poking: Similar to footsies, its basically using normals to control space. Pokes can also be used to stuff certain attacks, such using a punch to stop a possible fireball. In SF HD Remix, I would often use Cammy’s st. mk and st. fp to zone Zangief, for example.

Kara Canceling: This one is more difficult for me to define. I guess it means canceling one move with another. An example in IV/SSIV is Akuma’s “Itabashi Slayer”, whereby the player performs the Raging Demon out of canceling from a st. mp. There is also using Ken’s “F+mk” kick and then canceling that into a throw (“kara throw”).

Check this out: sonichurricane.com