Footsies?

I don’t really get footsies… I read some articles on sonic hurricane but I still don’t get it. I’ve picked up Ryu to step away from Juri for a bit to just learn the basics… (because I just got super and just started getting serious 3 weeks ago).

Well… I’m still confused… is this something you learn naturally by playing? or do you have to learn? or both?

I feel that if I learn footsies, it’d contribute a whole lot to my game play.

Can someone explain this concept to me? Thanks ;D

I’m still new, and I’m still learning.

Start with chapter one’s info from sonichurricane. Footsies are just tactics, you learn as you go and you practice them. I’m no master but I’m just using my common sense here. Easiest one is to bait sweeps, if your opponent is a sweeper. Start whiffing something like Ryu’s c. lk and mk just a pixel out of their reach- this includes their reach on reversal specials and see what they do. If they try something, punish em for it. For Example, if they do sweep, they are pretty much open from above. So this would allow you to jump in hp over the sweep, st. hp, and then go into any special or even his ultra if you were to cancel an srk and you had the meter for it. Another less flashy way would be to focus guard it and let the attack crumple then then go up and throw. You could then try one of Ryu’s meaty attacks into a shakunetsu (red fireball), which would knock down again. It’s all about making them mess up while at the same time opening your opportunities up for damage. Using this and fienting (making yourself falsely vulnerable then punishing) eventually, in theory,(because some opponents will just keep doing the same thing over and over) trains an opponent to stop doing things like poking at mid range, it makes them cautious, and when they are cautious you can do some bonkers stuff like run straight up and throw and/or do ume’s/valle’s fadc uppercut to metsu. But enough theory fighter, go and practice! :3