Frames....

Are frames helpful to learn? Should I put time aside trying to learn them? I hear that they are really helpful.

When I watch streams and people are talking about Frame traps and what not, I feel like you get a bit more of an upper hand if you know things about frames.

(you’d know what to do in a Frame trap, and how to capitalize… etc, etc.)

A million times yes…

Please explain further why?

http://shoryuken.com/f322/basic-frame-data-guide-newbies-238579/

Im not a frame expert, but they are useful.

For example, when Balrog does a rushpunch in, I know Chun Lis super starts up fast enough (only two frames) to punish him on block.

videos explaining:

[media=youtube]rCwWa6GOUUU[/media]
[media=youtube]nmipAe4A3c4[/media]

Frame data is good to know, but not required. Simply knowing frame data will not make you a better player. You can look at frame data and say “In theory, I should be able to beat/punish his Move X with my Move Y.” But testing these scenarios (e.g. different spacings, different timings, different opponent characters, etc…) in training mode and committing them to memory through straight up match experience will always trump raw frame data knowledge.

Frame Data isn’t something you go to school for, it’s something you naturally will build knowledge of when you play more.

You know that a DP punishable, if it’s blocked or whiffed for example. But you know you can’t take forever or else they will recover blah blah blah.
Frame Data just goes very specific, as in how much time you have to punish it.

You get into a situation where both characters are playing footsies, you have a character that has a fast sweep, another character has a slower sweep. This person you’re facing like to sweep a lot, but you know that their sweep takes eons to start up. So you beat them to it and sweep them first. If we hit up frame data, your sweep could have been a 5 frame start-up sweep, and their sweep could have been like 9.