From newb to Top 8 @ EVO

OK… yeah… I dream big. So what?

I’m coming into this game as a total newb. My ultimate goal way down the road is to make top 8 at EVO. It’s going to be a long journey. But to speed things up, I wanted to come here and ask an important question.

As a newcomer, what is the fastest way to improve my game? Where do I start? Do I hop online and start fighting people right away? Do I practice links and combos and training mode? Do I fight against CPUs?

At the moment, my gameplan is:
1 - Complete all Trial Challenges for my character (done already with Akuma)
2 - Learn and memorize the best combos for each situation/matchup, and be able to perform them perfectly, 10+ times in a row
3 - Play matches against the CPU to learn about blocking, footsies, range, etc.
4 - Go online to play against human players and learn more from them
5 - Hook up with some local players and learn more from them
6 - Attend local tournaments
7 - Attend regional tournaments
8 - Attend big tournaments
9 - EVO

I guess… critique my gameplan… as an experienced player, what do you think is the fastest way to learn?

The SRK GD Lounge: Dear Epidemic, my money's on the chimp

That’s all looking pretty good, but the biggest tip i can give you is, find a rival.
If you are playing against people worse then you, you will not improve, despite how fun it is to just troll them with your pocket characters (non mains) and feel good about winning all the time. (a problem most players have) I remember being a scrub back then and always wondered why high ranked players would join, and eventually thought of this reason, they’re the even bigger scrubs to be honest.