Game Design Teacher needs to be schooled on MvC2 History

Hey guys, I’ve lurked here for a long while not because I’m a great player but because I’m a game designer that’s very interested in high level play and the communities surrounding games.

I have a class I am teaching coming up in a couple weeks specifically about multiplayer game balancing and I want to show the students how games like MvC2 can balance themselves and evolve over time without the need of patches.

So what I could use some help with is finding some threads or sites where I can research the evolution of balance in MvC2 from the release of the game up until now. There is a lot of stuff out there but its hard to discern the fact from fiction and opinions, and also not just which characters were on top but also WHY they were on top.

Any help would be appreciated.

marvel is by far the most half ass version of a game to ever exists. The game wasn’t programed properly and it resulted in one of the best games ever imo. I don’t know how capcom shitted out a diamond but they did.

I’m not sure 1 single person could explain this game properly.

if you’re teaching a class, you should watch whom you take your advice from.

there’s a write up on mvc2 from someone called viscant. I’m sure someone can post it up because its not that bad of a read. However, I’m fairly positive its pretty old now. Its gotta be circa 02-04? somewhere around there iirc and the game has changed a little in 4 years.

Also, the ‘history’ of marvel is basically all in video format on Zach’s site imo. He names the players as well as the teams they play in a series of tournaments over the past few years. If you can’t deduce the playing strategy/team strength’s just from knowing the team set-up, the vids will show you. Good stuff.

http://zachd.com/mvc2/

Thanks, I’ll start going through them. If I just stuck to Evo and the B series tournaments would I get enough of an impression or do I need to look at ECC and Texas showdown ect. ?