Garou:MOTW, what am I doing wrong?!?!

Hi,

I’m basically a complete noob to the 2d fighter scene.
I’ve been playing SFII since it came out, and I’m good. I’m 28 now so that’s a lot of years playing SFII.
Anyway, I only found this site because I’m into emulation and wanted to build a decent, authentic stick for SFII.

I really hadn’t realised that there was a 2D fighter ‘scene’!!

So I’ve lurked a bit, Played a bit of GGPO, and have found myself getting into Garou.

I love the game!! I really like the ‘weight’ of contact when a special hits an opponent, it looks great, it’s not one of these annoyingly fast button mashers and it’s intuitive and comfortable to play.

When I play GGPO I do OK, not great, but OK. Far from rubbish…

But when I play single player, which is most of the time, I rarely get past the third opponent!!??!
And I mean really rarely, 1 in 15 times maybe!!

I’ve tried all the characters and favour Terry, but I’ll often use Butt too (I’m always Ken in SFII and he’s the generic Ken’Ryu character all fighters seem to have!!). And occasionally I’ll play Kim Jae Hoon.
All nice and easy to use, but after I destroy the first two characters in ‘S’ level fights and even the odd miracle, I go on to get thumped by the third opponent!!!?!?

Am I missing something??
I’d guess I’m probably at least an average level player and I’d assume that by now I should be fighting my way to the last few battles… shouldn’t I??

Cheers all

Chris

Hi,

Garou is a great game. Although I think this is a question that should be moved to the dedicated Garou-thread at http://forums.shoryuken.com/showthread.php?t=157635

I’m sure some people there will be able to answer your question (I don’t have a clue myself)