Gen Q&A - simple questions go here!

gen

Every other character forum has one of these except for Gen it seems, so I figured I’d make an all-inclusive thread instead of making one for my one question. I’ll eventually update the OP here with FAQs if we start to get the same questions over and over again.

My SE stick came in yesterday, and I’m having a really hard time adjusting to Gen. I feel like my game with my other mains (Viper, Cammy) have already improved, but with Gen, it’s like I just started playing him again. I think my big problem is that I’m having trouble adjusting to switching stances by pressing 3 buttons at the same time. So to those with sticks: do you program a button to KKK/PPP to switch stances, or do you do it old school like I’m trying to do? My rationale is that if I ever play a real arcade cabinet with other characters, I’ll be thrown off guard by not having a KKK/PPP macro, so I figure I’d better take off the training wheels and go ahead and get used to it.

Old school way, i only put 6 buttons on my custom build :frowning:

Use 6 buttons, disable the extras.

Yeah I just got my HRAP and I already knew I would have to learn Gen from scratch again, but with tools in the toolbox already, the process will be faster by a lot of course. I am planning on playing other characters for a week or so before I really start to play Gen again. I’ve been doing arcade mode, challenge trials for several characters as much as I can complete, and survival modes to learn all the common motions in muscle memory. Also used the HRAP vs. my main sparring partner for about half of our matches last night before switching to fight pad (his request, he wanted more of that Gen action lol!). Learning to play on a stick from scratch can be tough, and you’ll start to lean more towards playing charge characters, especially if you have a square gate.