Getting into 3s

Hey all,

I’m a competitive Smash Bros. player from NorCal, and I’m looking to pick up some of the Capcom games, mainly 3S and MvC2. I’ve played 3S quite a few times in arcades and on emulators at home, but I’ve never really gotten to a level that’s good enough for competition.

I’m not a complete noob at the game. I play Ken, and I know how to combo and chain into supers relatively well, but I want to start learning more of the advanced techs, like cancels and kara-throws, to get my game up to a decent competitive level.

Can you guys give me some tips or suggestions to help me get my feet off the ground?

Thanks a lot. I really want to enter in 3S along with Smash at EvoX.

Stop playing that stupid Nintendo party game.

Seriously…there’s a lot of stuff you can learn just by reading the character strategy threads and watching vids. I’d say about half of the stuff I learned in the game I learned just by watching. Vids are good…yet you understand better what goes on in vids when you read about it as well. Do a little bit of both and try to ask more specific questions. The more specific your questions are…the better you’ll learn. Try to pick up stuff on your own first and get more specific with the questions later. That’s the best way to learn IMO. Experiment and then solidify by asking questions in detail and learning from mistakes in competitive play. Strategies are pretty character specific in 3S any ways. Since you’re learning Ken you might as well dabble in the Ken thread and watch some Ken vids (there’s a ton I think).

somebody link him to the 3s tutorial vids I’m too lazy.