Getting nowhere fast in SSF

Hi. i don’t have many friends who play fighting games, and it’s been difficult getting live matches in. Where I play online on PSN which is not often, the internet is not the best and the matches either have me beating people who don’t play very well or facing experienced players who blow me up and disappear. I therefore spend most of my time messing around in training mode, but after a while that feels aimless.

how much can i improve without regular competition?

I should add that i’m working on my execution as well since I recently started playing on stick, which has created its own issues.

any advice?

Get an Xbox? lol… or you could just try and find a local scene around you

Umm… not very much i believe. The more you fight people the more experience you gain in those fights/ matchups. You could play against the CPU on hardest, but that only gets you so far.

Just keep training in training mode i suppose. You’ll eventually get everything down and get used to the stick

http://shoryuken.com/forum/categories/regional-matchmaking.110/

Did you try the regional matchmaking section? There may be some peeps near you.

Definitely hit up regional matchmaking. Other than that, maybe you can get some friends into fighters. Its tough when you don’t live around a scene. Especially when the most common advice is ‘go to tournaments’ like people think its always an option

Don’t think I haven’t seriously considered the Xbox idea, it’s just a) i’m wary of the system’s reliability even with the S revamp, which is why i went PS3 and b) i only recently bought said PS3 and stick, so to splash a comparable sum on a new system and another stick is a little daunting. Even a stick as sexy as the VX-SA. :slight_smile:

Tried the regional matchmaking forum already, but no responses… i live in a land far, far away. LOL.