Getting over being a hipster wannabe

Hi! I’m a beginner to fighting games, so this’ll be a very beginner question. (Hope this is the right place to post it… mainly, it relates to every fighting game but for me, it’s focused around UMVC3.)

It’s a more… nuanced “how do I choose a character” question, but not a “choose one for me!” discussion.

As everyone knows, all fighting games have their fair share of good characters and bad characters, so I have two choices (considering all else equal): play a good character or a bad character.

If I choose a good character, theoretically I’ll win more but I might be spoiling myself and my learning (because… am I winning or is the character winning?), and I, like many others, would prefer playing a less common character instead of just being another scrub playing a high tier character.

If I choose a bad character, I’ll win less but I might learn more and I’ll be playing a less common character, which I should theoretically enjoy because I’m a hipster wannabe.

Everyone I’ve asked said, “just play what you want to play and don’t care about the haters,” but there are pros and cons to playing good characters (pro - …good, con - not unique and spoiling) and bad characters (pro - be a hipster, training “~with weights on,” con - probably win less).

I know lots of people play bad characters and win, but plenty more play bad characters and lose. Basically, I don’t want to play too good of a character, but I might be limiting myself because of that belief.

What do you think about the dichotomy between choosing good and bad characters? (Sorry such a dumb question became such a long one…)

I have the same problem, I usually try avoiding playing as Wesker/Dante/Zero because they are top tier, and because those guys don’t interest me.

Honestly, any character can beat any character, it all depends on how you use them. Be as hipster as you like, as long as you enjoy yourself.