Getting worse at SF4

Hi,

So recently I’ve been having a bit of slump in my gameplay online. I’ve been playing SF4 for a few years and used to do pretty well. Lately though, I’ve been playing worse and have been losing a lot more frequently these days. Although people keep telling me that offline vs. online is completely different, it’s hard to convince myself otherwise. I feel like it’s an issue with my playstyle instead.

I’ll admit that I have lost a bit of passion for the game and play it less than before (which could account for others improving in their game while I have gone stagnant) in addition to the added lag. But I can’t help but feel discouraged with my recent performances online.

I dislike making excuses for my poor performance and don’t like blaming the lag/online environment, but I feel like there’s more to the story as well. I’m definitely looking to improve but I was just wondering if anybody else went through something similar? And how you felt was the best way to deal with it?

Just a bit of background, I frequent streams and matches of top level players and also take the time to reflect on my losses. I think having a different pair of eyes analyze my play would be helpful but it is not an option at the moment. I’m a Ryu player but have several other pocket characters (sort of having a character crisis as well) and used to range around the low-mid 3000’s PP but now linger around the low-mid 2000’s.

Thanks for listening.

First of all, It’s thanks for reading not listeling :smiley:

Second, that’s normal. You have been gone quite a while and now you wanna “unrust” yourself. Pratice for a few days with friends or offline to get back on track and you will see that it will be the same.

Although, here’s some things. If you actually feel demotivated because of the game you should take some time off, at least online. You shouldn’t play if you are not having fun (that’s the whole point of the game).