GGXX General System Question

Hey, I just started playing this game for a day, got some questions about the general system…

1. Dust : what’s the point of using Dust attack (ground Dust, not crouching Dust sweep or air Dust) in an actual game when ppl can see it from a mile away (since they are so slow) and either block or counter easily? I know it sets up for air combos and all but it doesn’t seem too useful.

2. Light attacks in combos : seems to me light attacks (light punch and light kick) in combos decrease the final damage instead of the other way around, I’ve actually heard about this before too, before I played the game. So is there any point to using light attacks in combos? and say for the air combos (from Dust), why do 4~5 light attacks when you can just do 1~2 or even one and go straight for Slash or Heavy Slash for more damage?

I’m beginning to play this game on a regular basis as well (so I guess that makes me an experienced novice :slight_smile: ) Anyway, dust attacks are indeed very hard to connect & even dangerous if done at wrong time. I feel the best time to pull one off is after your opponent does a move with a huge lag, other wise it should be avoided.

As for the combos, I’ve noticed that too. However I wouldn’t say that they are useless. Doing a few punches or kicks in a row can help keep your opponent at bay, thus they won’t be so quick to counter. Also because they come out faster than a S or HS, you won’t have to much a punishement for whiffing it or having it blocked. Only real problem with setting up comboes with multiple P & K is your opponent can easily use a Burst to break the combo.

Perhaps someone more experienced can add in to this!

Dusts are mainly used against people who block too much; since you have to block a s.D high you can get it off on opponents who are overly defensive.