Gief's supposed BnB - Question on Links

zangief

Crossup FBA, c.lp X’s 3, s.lk xx EX hand.

Zangief’s supposed BnB combo.

Can’t get it for the life of me. I’ve done it - passed Hard trial 4 (and 5 for that matter). But I can’t get it consistently. The real question I have is: How big a deal is that?

The combo is freaking hard - and just so people don’t start yelling at the newbie (and I AM a newbie, not a scrub - I want to learn) it’s not just a matter of sucking at linking (which I do). It’s timing a link, while buffering an EX hand into a standing lk - a whopping 6 frames combined between startup and active. I can’t be the only one who finds that a difficult prospect, especially in the heat of battle.

As near as I can tell, the combos sole usefulness is a hit-confirm. End without the EX Hand and you don’t get a knockdown, do the combo without the c.lps and you don’t get to wait to see if you should finish or try a tick throw.

My game (which isn’t half bad considering how long I’ve been playing, if I do say so myself) right now is dependent on this one:

crossup FBA, c.lk xx KKK lariat.

Between the FBA and the c.lk I have a little mini hit confirm (though it’s obviously less of a window than you would want in a hit confirm, and I will occasionally pull out the lariat when I’m being blocked), the lariat scores a knockdown on hit, is difficult (but not impossible) to punish on block, and I can either skip the c.lk and go for an SPD, or tick off the c.lk. for a jab SPD. Sounds like good odds to me. And by my reckoning, it’s even money or better against his BnB, up until you’re insanely comfortable with the BnB to the point that you could pull it off 10 out of 10 times in the pressure of a tournament.

So, yes, I should be in training mode working on his “supposed” BnB - as a matter of fact I am right now. But seriously, how big a deal is it if I never work that into my Gief game?