Going to attempt to mod, what tools to get?

So I just had a pad dual modded for me, and the end result is I have a 360 Standard Edition stick now with no PCB in it.

Now, I have a MadCatz Round 2 FightPad for 360. I know when people dual mod sticks, they’ll usually just use a PCB from a pad.

So I’m wondering is it possible for me to use the PCB from my MadCatz pad to put into the stick?

And if so, what tools am I going to need to buy? I have no experience with soldering, but would like to start. Most things I need I can get at Home Depot or something, right?

You’ll be doing a lot of wiring and soldering, I’d look into radio shack more than home depot.

You can get most thing at radio shack (preferred) you will need the following:
Solder Iron
Solder wire
22- gauge copper wire
22-Quick disconnect
Heat Shrink tubing or Tubing
De-soldering tool a vacuum one or a Copper braid.
Pliers
Lighter or heat for the heat shrink
Hot glue gun.

That should cover most of the tools you’ll need

Radio Shack would make more sense, haha.

What exactly is the 22-Quick disconnect?

Piece that attaches to the button’s wiring pins.

Here’s an example of one I found off the net, may not be exact, but similar enough:

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/210KVjlPVqL.SL500_AA300.jpg

Gotcha. Well this helps out. Just going to have to look at the wiring diagrams and all that and figure the rest out myself. Thanks!

Heat shrink tubing isn’t totally necessary. It’s just for wire management, which, when you’re starting out, can look quite terrible.

I prefer the copper braid for desoldering mistakes. Pumps or suckers tend to shake when you use them, and it’s a little harder to control. Also, be sure that if you use copper braided wire, hold it with pliers. Remember, it’s conductive, so holding it directly on to the hot solder will conduct it up to your fingers.