Grapple Reversal Counters

I’m new to SF4 and my friend is just a beast with Zangief. The dude can 360 like there’s no tomorrow and I’m having problems fighting him. Mainly I get reversal to death. It doesn’t matter if I land a solid standing fierce or a deep round house, heck I can’t even land a single jab on him without getting thrown by him. Are these reversals really that inescapable or is there something I’m seriously missing out on something here.

Grab can be beaten by jumping or back dashing. If you are playing a person who spams 360s during your combos just stop in the middle of the combo and hold up. Your character will jump the throw will whiff and you will get a free jump in combo. Basically any break in a combo can be reversal’ed so don’t miss the links or purposely break the combos with a jump and punish the whiff.

As soon as I get home from work this afternoon, I gotta try this. I am tired of all 'Gief users reversing the crap outta me! >.<

SPDs through dropped combos/blockstrings are always annoying, I ate quite a few of them last night myself (thankfully Hawk only knew about LP Typhoon, which does less damage and he didn’t know how to mix up afterwards).

Some basic rules to live by:

• Unless you really don’t care about getting beat in the learning process (which is valid in itself), don’t attempt any combos on Gief/Hawk that you think you might drop. Keep it simple and safe, and if you want more damage, focus on baiting whiffed SPDs. (see below)