Guile In The Corner

guile

I was just wondering is it bad for Guile to be in the corner? I like to play a more turtle style but is it bad for him to do something such as liking to be in the corner? He has plenty of tools where the opponent will have a tough time getting in to you besides throwing (c. mk, flash kick, airthrow, b. hp, f. hp, sonic booms recover fast).

noob here

I try avoid being cornered, but if proper spacing means I need to be at the edge of my screen - then it means I need to be at the edge of my screen.

I think it all really comes down to the matchup. For instance - if I’m close up I’m going to rush down a Balrog as best I can, as Balrog really does not have too many AA options. However if he is within lunge range I’m going to corner myself for SB tossing.

That’s my experience thus far, and I’d like to hear more from others in regards to the OP’s question.

Minus balrog’s crouching fierce which is like, an outrageously good anti-air.

In regards to the OP, I don’t terribly hate being in the corner. Sometimes I lead myself back there, bait a jump in, back-air throw them. Well now they’re in the corner. I’m better at keeping them there than they are at getting out.

being in the corner fucking sucks

Yea, If you’re playing someone really good, especially in G1 you risk eating a ridiculous corner combo. Especially from Ryus, Rufuses, and Goukens.

turtle guile is a typical choice i would say. but thats fine by me as its all about peoples choices and opinion. being in corner is complete safe provided u block high low, tech thows and AA the crossup attempt or just lk fk, air grab .

It’s less safe than anywhere else on the screen. So, you can’t say it’s completely safe. One mistake and you can lose a lot more health than you would have a few inches toward the center. It’s easy to say you can anti air a cross up, or air throw, but that can get snuffed or countered. I’d rather deal with that another way.