Having a hard time Offensive/Defensive tactics

akuma

I guess I would say I am a beginner Akuma player on paper, but I know quite a bit about Akuma from the threads and pro videos. With that said, I’m having a really hard time putting it all together and knowing what to do in various situations. Now I know, that’s waaay too much information to be answered in a single thread, but I am curious if there are general tactics in common situations you guys could tell me so that I can have a base of where to start practicing. Like tactics that would only work at certain ranges could be one place to start.

The biggest issue I’m having though when it comes to this stuff is getting in on your opponent. Also, when do you use jabs and shorts other than possible hit confirming after a jump in? I’ve seen pros throw them out as pokes occasionally or use them on opponents that jump in on them, but I don’t really know the strategy behind that nor other uses of jabs and shorts.

And last but definitely not least, what do u do when an opponent is rushing you down other than blocking or focus back dashing? I seem to get into this situation a lot since I tend to take to long to think up a way to advance on my opponent lol. The only other thing I know to do in this situation is OS teching if they go for a grab, but I am not good at that. Are there other ways of having better defense?

Any help is greatly appreciated, thank you.

And the teleport ? Or block and learn the hard way (but the best way) to react and push buttons when its wise.
I got rushed down by a Guile the other day. I never TP away, and died to a normals flood with little sense. If I had used that TP how could I have found that I suck at punishing Guile sweep on block ?
Now I know what to train to make them respect my punishments.