Having some trouble

Just picked this game up the other day, though I have some fighter game experience from playing CvS2 for about a year.

I started out with C.Viper and after learning some of her tricks in training mode, went online for some matches.

I played a Ken player off the bat, and it seems things would go pretty normal and then when I got the knockdown and tried to press the advantage it seems like he had more options then me. For example I would try for a meaty jump in roundhouse to set up a block string but it got Srk’d, ok, fair enough. a bit later a did a back throw, dashed up to him and did a instant crossover flame kick, autocorrect Srk. Okay, that’s a bit annoying. A bit later I knock him down again, dash up, obviously I expect him to do a third Srk in a row so I block, he see’s I did nothing and throws me.

I end up having to try the win off of stupid stuff like lucky Ex Seismo’s

This continues to happen even when I play against other characters, it seems almost the whole cast has a get out of jail free card, though some have it a lot easier than others. (Shoto’s, Sagat, Zangief, E.Honda to name a few.)

Am I missing something here? Am I not supposed to be pressing advantage after a knockdown? Were the options I did not good ideas? Is there a way to get around reversals like SRK,Tiger Uppercut, Zangeif 360/Lariat, ect.?

Depending on meter, opponents mindstate, life left, time left, those ideas may or may not have been smart. This game is way different from cvs2 because normals have so little hitstun, making meaties really hard. On top of that, a lot of the cast have an easyway to get around them so you have to target wakeups specifically to beat out as many options as you can untill you make your opponent scared to press buttons. THEN you meaty since you’ve removed reversals from your opponents mind. Read up on your characters safe jumps and “fake safejumps” which sorta hit meaty and avoid reversal srks.