Having trouble playing with arcade stick....? Need advice

I’ve been playing fighting games forever and played all of them on console with pad. I got SF4 and have been using the madcatz 6-button pad.

I was finally able to buy the MadCatz TE Arcade Stick. I’ve been using it for 2 days and I might be pre-mature, but I don’t know, I’m just not feeling it with a stick. The reason why I bought it is because everybody says or most that a stick is better. By the little time I have with the stick I can tell you that if your main is a charge character that a stick is a must. Pulling off Vegas ultra is a breeze, but with pad I get it 80% of the time.

My main question is do you guys think that I should make the effort in being not so good with a stick now and just practice? Is it worth the extra effort since I’ve been playing with pad since I started playing all these fighting games?

Many other threads for this…NOTHING comes easy, why do you think “oh i’ve played only on one controller my whole life, now i’m changing and it’s not as natural for me?!!” of course it’s not. If you wanted to be a F1 driver would you think “i’ve never driven a manual transmission before, but I’ve stalled out a few times now and want to quit.” NO, you know the only option for competitive driving is a manual, so you have to practice.

I don’t know about all that, I gurantee you that I’ll be competitive against a stick vs. my pad.

same here

its 2009, hell even when t5 came out they set a new standard with the controller ports. Arcades are dead for the most part. Console allows you to play with pad or stick (especially a flexable console like the PS2/PS3). There is barely a reason to learn how to play on a stick. It’s not like SF4 has over complex notation where you would need to use a stick. That’s the long and short of it.