Hello, new here, need advice

yo. im not sure where exactly to post this but this seemed like the most relevant. i didnt see an intro forum so i just came here. plz dont get mad im new haha

anyways sup ppl. new player to these forums and the 2d fighter scene in general. however im not new to competitive gaming as i been playin tekken for about a year and a half and SSBM foir like 3. so basically im new to playin competitive 2d fighters in general.

the thing is ive been tryin out different fighters for about 3 months now (ggxx, mvc1, cvs2) and i cant seem to get a good feel of one. im thinkin of buying a sf game or any other 2d fighting game but it seems like im too late to hop on the scene and i would just be known as a scrub forever if i started playing now. is this true? and could anyone possibly give a reccomendations for some good games that could help with my strats for 2d fighting games?

i appreciate any replys to this thread and answers to these questions or ill move it if i have to. thx fo your time

welcome.

get super street fighter ii: turbo or street fighter alpha 2. you should get your mechanics down first. practice, practice, practice. it also helps if you can find someone else to play with you, so you’re not always playing against the computer.

as for strategies, well, SRK does have a strategy section. look it up.

Also you should check the matchmaking forum, there may be people in your area who play. As far as being too late to get into it, nah, there are people who are knew that are doing great things in old games so it’s never too late to start.

mmk i see ppl. thanks for the help so far

I thought intro forums are bannable?

start with sf2.
its as raw and stripped down as you can get.
but alot of the 2d fighters today, no matter how “different” thay seem, still got the basic mechanica found in sf2.

you can also start with SF3:3S.
just learn about frames and the other common lingo around here.
hit priorities, boxes, space control, you know…