Help getting into Third Strike

Hey everyone. I am new to the whole fighting game scene and I need some help. I have played all of the “main stream” series like SF, DOA, and the like. But I have never realy got into one enough to get competitive or keep playing for more than a few weeks. I recently bought an authentic arcade stick and Third Strike and have got to say it is by far THE best fighter that I have ever played. I like it so much that I would like to get to a competitive level even if it is only local competition. The problem is I find it very unaccessable. There are all of these frases, terms, and other things I have never heard. And the tips and guides are hard to understand because of my lack of knowledge. There is also realy no way to just “train” that I know of and the people online are scrubs just like me. I am aware that I am a “scrub” and am asking for your help. I desperatly want to get good at this game and I am willing to spend hours practicing, losing, and bettering my self. Please help me. ANY advise or knowledge that you can give me would be great. Thank You

PS and as always, sorry for the bad spelling/grammar

dood. 3S is like, the most accessible mainstream fighter out there.

you should probably re-check the 3S thread, there’s tons of golden info in there.

PS: if you understand basic Capcom fighting conventions (jab, strong, fierce, etc), then you shouldn’t have a problem navigating through the 3S thread.

This is a good first post, damnit. And you’re not a scrub with this mindset. A scrub is someone unwilling, or unable to learn, and play the game correctly, so you’ve got that going for you. The best place for you right now is Thongboy Bebop’s 3S Gen. Ed. at www.combovideos.com and for the jargon, http://www.sonichurricane.com/articles.html and the first two ‘reference’ articles.