Help needed on old x-box console

after a few years on my xbox i started getting an error message with the number 11 on the screen when i turned it on and after inactivity like for a week it works as normal till about an hour and then the error message comes back and when once this happens again it refuses to come on and only shows this message, on a website i found that error 11 stands for the hard-drive not being recognised and i was advised to do a couple of things , firstly to get a lens cleaner which has not made a differnce and secondly to replace the hard drive but with the cluster of all the new 360 hardware you can not find any for the old xbox and even if i did i am not tech savvy and how would i be able to fot one of these in.
I need help in fitting in the hard drive and if not if someone can help me with a link where i can get help in having it replaced or a diagram so i can know what it is i am looking for

i think the old xbox consoles just use a standard IDE hard drive (like any old computer would have)

You can use a standard pc harddrive with the Parallel-ATA connector, however XBox harddrives are locked by default and have a harddrive key to prevent tampering.

That being said it is not impossible to replace your drive, if you happen to live in the Netherlands let me know and i can help you out with replacing your harddrive.

No @ Netherlands :sad:

hmmm, too bad… :frowning:

Though the only help i can offer you is this.
Go to google and look for “Xbox replacing harddrive”, there are a lot of articles explaining the whole deal and you can even find some which can make a nice media center out of your standard box.

Mind though you cannot use live under that condition risking a ban if you do try to connect.
Still if you only replace the drive and keep it in a normal state then there should be no worries.