Help needed with an old old taito cab

A freind of mine has a 1979 taito lunar rescue cocktail cabinet (i believe it’s the same as this). He wants to know if I can swap the board for a different game for him. I don’t really have experience with arcade boards but I am a qualified computer technician and pick up things like this pretty quickly. The question is Would I be able to put this board in that cabinet? I’m guessing at minimum I’d need to put a 4 way stick in instead of the 2 way stick that it has in it at the moment.

Any help at all would be appreciated

You’d have to rewire the cabinet, that came out way before jamma…

Chad
www.lizardlick.com

I thought that might be the case. How about the power supply and monitor would they need replacing aswell or should they be ok? what would I need to buy to rewire it? I’ve seen jamma harnesses is that all i need? also am I likely to have problems with the size/shape of the jamma board?

thanks!

A cabinet that old will be using an isolation transformer to power the monitor… If it works, I would probably just leave that alone… Depending on your picture quality, you might want to cap it, or if it’s dead, you could always just replace it with a new lcd monitor…

If you’re going to rewire the cabinet to jamma, you might as well put a new switcher in there for the board… It will actually be easier than trying to hack into the old existing (and possibly flaky) power supply…

Here’s a quick shopping list for this project: board, switcher, quick connects for the buttons, test/service switches; spade connects for the switcher; molex connector (and pins) for monitor (video connection). I can’t remember how many buttons that game uses, you’ll want at least 2 per player for a 48-in-1… If you need some help with the harness, email me. We have done complete custom harnesses for customers in the past…

Thanks,

Chad
sales@lizardlick.com
www.lizardlick.com