Help on daisy-chaining and other questions

Hey guys.

I don’t post here often, but I do lurk a fair bit. Basically, my friend and I tried making arcade sticks a while back. We got mine done, but not his. We used Sanwa buttons and JLFs, as well as ripping the PCBs out of 360 controllers. This worked well for the most part, except that after a few months, the RB button stopped working, in addition to other problems. So the PCB is boned.

I’m looking to buy one of these: PS360 PCB

Would anyone be able to help me on how to daisy-chain to use common ground? I’ve never used a common ground before (due to my first time involving the extremely fussy 360 pad) and as such I’m a bit lost. A diagram would be especially helpful.

I’m also wondering about ways to tidy up the wiring on the inside of the case, apart from cable ties. I’m using the mayflash case from before, but last time it was a complete mess. Also, what is the best way to mount a Sanwa JLF?

That’s about it, really. My friend and I took ages last time and it was very difficult since one of the controllers died (the solder point came off completely), so any advice on the whole process would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for reading! :slight_smile:

Common ground simply means using only one ground wire for all the buttons. This means that just as long as all the switches are connected to the ground on the PCB, no matter how you do it, it’ll work.

I know that much, but it’s the actual, physical wiring that is foreign to me. If you could step me through the process to daisy chain the wires, I’d be in your debt.

I know this sounds like I really have no idea, but it’s something I’m really unclear on.

http://www.mrshoe.org/static/images/mame/daisy_chain_big.jpg

see how the grounds are all connected to both each other and the buttons?
its 1 single wire from the ground of the pcb, to the ground of 1 button.
from that single button’s ground, you’ll put another wire to another button’s ground, and so on.