Help Versus Zoners, Specifically Dormammu?

I posted this in the MVC3 forum originally. I looked through MVC3 specific subforums, and its all character specific, and since my problem is more an issue with a whole class of characters, I didn’t think putting it into one of those subforums fit. Also, this “Newbie” forum looks like it is for fighting games in general, so I thought MVC3 general was the place to put it. My bad.

I’ve always had trouble fighting zoning characters in games. I’m a newb.

In this game, the character giving me the most trouble is Dormammu. I play X-23, Chun-Li, and Trish currently, all low vitality characters. The one I can do the best with is Chun-Li, because she has an airdash, and once I get on him it is fairly easy to stay on him. With X-23, I am getting zoned out completely and having trouble touching Dormammu. With Trish, his black hole stops my spinning blade and lightning barrages, and I’m not sure what else I can do, since he is too far away for my traps.

Also, it doesn’t help the friend I play against who uses Dormammu most knows how to turn most of his hits into a combo for 350k-100% damage, depending on the state of his hyper gauge and what he lands to start the combo :stuck_out_tongue:

So, any tips for my composition versus zoners, primarily Dormammu? And any tips for playing Trish especially, since I am having a lot of trouble learning her.