Help with becoming a good fighting game player

First off, i’m not sure if this belongs here becasue when i was reading the rules it said non-capcom games are now allowed here i’m not sure if now was a typo or not. but I think that it is not. k also this is my first post and i am a newb.

k here’s what i need help with, I have been fighting games for years and never really got into them. Now that I have gotten into them, I have been playing other people and getting horribly owned. The game i play the most is Kof2k2, I know the basics of a fighting game, but i don’t know the strategic play and combos of it. Can anyone give me tips on becoming a good player? Also main characters i use in KOF are
K’
Andy Bogard
Ryo / Sie Kensou

post a vid, and I’m sure everyone would be more than happy to pick it apart for you.

Thanks for the reply, and you mean a combo video?

I think he means a match video :tup:

hmmm…I don’t think i can find any with the characters I use…

I think he means make your own match videos

heheh alright, what’s a good video capturing program?

If you have a video card capable of capturing, it should come with software that lets you capture video.

If not, I think you can play emulator on your PC and capture that way… I remember seeing a guide somewhere for this type of capture, but I can’t remember where… sorry. Anyone?

yea I have kaillera, but don’t have any program/game recording programs

mame has an input recorder
just do “play and record input” or hold left ctrl and shift before starting a game on kaillera
and a kof2k2.inp will show up in your mame/inp/ dir, if not just create one
then just post it here, or hell, post in the kaillera section and ask for some help.
I could try giving you whatever small tips I can give.

@liveordie56
You could also check out the KOF Threads here, there is a lot of infos about Andy and Ryo for sure!