Help with X-arcade mod

Hi folks! Been searching around a while and found this place, and looking at the many many (and very awesome) arcade sticks, I seem to be in the right place.

I am new at this modding stuff, and I only own an x-arcade (well I have 2x madcatz wii sticks in the post as they where cheap, £23 each).

So far, as it was the ps/2 type, I have replaced the pcb with the usb version. I then started to look around at other peoples mods of the sticks and wanted to mod mine.

The stock parts I found out are cheap knock offs, and perhaps this is the reason the sticks are rubbish for games such as street fighter.

Generally it seems that most people are suggesting Happ parts, as these fit right in.

The main thing I need help with is choosing what sticks to use out of the Happ ones. Both the Happ Competition Joystick, and the Happ Ultimate Joystick seem to be the right size to go right into the X-arcade.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of each of these?

Going to use Happ Competition buttons as these seem to be very similar to the stock fittings.

Now over all with these buttons and sticks, will they go right in without having to add extra wires and whatnot?

I’ll be wanting to mod the madcatz ones at a later date, using the xarcade as my starter project.

The X-Arcade arcade controllers thread

Problem with this community, there are a lot of Happ Haters, so its difficult to get a non-bias opinion on them.
And many who side with Happs and IL parts are so heavily bias against Japanese parts I almost do not consider their opinion ether.

Happ and/or IL parts would be perfect drop in replacements for the rubbish X Arcade Knock offs (I agree they are terrible). Yes there X arcade uses parts that are suppose to be Happ/IL imitations, and not every good ones ether. You can use all the existing wiring, and you need no “extra” wiring per switch.