Hey guys! Some simple question

Hey guys! I’m new to fighting games, but got SF4 a month ago because a friend and was not bad but then i stopped playing for two weeks and got SSF4, which i have had for 4 days. I completely suck and i will admit it. Im still trying to learn execution, footsies, links, etc.

So here are my questions

1. I have no idea what to do when someone sits in a corner and waits for me to come. If im using a character that can’t shoot fireballs what should i do? If i just block i will recieve chip damage and i’ll lose if time runs out so i know thats not an option.

2. I seem to always get beat by people who charge at me and apply pressure second i get up. I just mash until i can hit them. What should i do at this point? I use dudley, gouken, and im going to take up ken too.

3. How should i start out ? After i get better with execution what should i learn? Combos, footsies, match-ups?

If you can add me on PSN and help me a bit i would be grateful, my PSN is AccelerationZ. Also i know it takes a while to get good, but i see most people have fightsticks, should i get one? Can you become pretty good without it?

1. hit them with an overhead or poke with some normals then grab.

2.Dont mash. Focus on blocking and punishing their mistakes.

3.Once you have your execution down come back and post and we can go from there.

Theres no rush take your time. Your in the right place and dont forget to read through Domination 101 :slight_smile:

add rigelmao, i’d like to spar with you seeing i’m p. bad also.

OK, thanks i’ll be sure to try these. Also, im working on execution, i can almost do all my characters moves all the time, but im working on doing it faster for combos where i need to hit them before they land.

Stick to one character for now. You have to play around with them all to choose the one you like the most but, in this stage of the game you really need to be sticking to one.