Hooking EVERYTHING up to a modern HDTV - A Guide (Update for the Framemeister coming soon!)

Why do we need this?

Fact is, you don’t NEED any of these things but being a wise-ass aside I can’t be the only one with tons of retro stuff that is now near useless because of my TV upgrade. I can’t even LOOK at the horrible things my new TV does to my Genesis (poor poor Sonic) so while I’ve been asking questions/ pestering people almost to death I figure why not make this a project?

The Idea:

A guide detailing the absolute BEST and most lag free way to hook in every console and have them all in at the same time. I am going to do my best and I URGE you to correct me because I’m no expert.

The guide will be written in such a way that no matter how few inputs you have there will be some options (within reason) because what my TV came with is pitiful.

So get a CRT!
The idea here is that most people have that ONE gaming TV (not the super duper hardcore you guys have everything). YES I am aware that this will lag a tiny bit when you move to last gen and ever so slightly more moving past that and that’s to be expected, this thread will cover the most lag free/good looking/cost effective method for hooking in these consoles (those looking for the totally lag free solution, make some room for that CRT) but unless you’re practicing for SFA3 on your PSX there is no notable lag introduced by these methods (your specific TV’s lag is something you’ll have to look up/test). Test a game or two out through composite (bear with the ugliness a little more) and see if the lag is tolerable, I didn’t even notice it was there.

WARNING!!
THIS IS NOT THE PLACE TO FIND OUT WHICH TV IS LAGLESS!!! DON’T ASK! THIS IS ONLY FOR THE HOOKING IN OF VIDEO GAME CONSOLES TO HDTVS!!

Thank you!

The Consoles